6 great sport channels
Football, Rugby, UFC, GAA
All free when you join eir Broadband
Diego Costa did not bite Gareth Barry during an incident which saw the Chelsea player dismissed, according to a club spokesman.
The former Atletico Madrid striker was given his marching orders late on in his side's 2-0 FA Cup sixth round defeat at Goodison Park for clashing with the Everton midfielder.
Television replays suggested that the Spain international was about to bite Barry before pulling back at the last second.
The Football Association has said they would be waiting until they received referee Michael Oliver's report before commenting on the confrontation.
Chelsea however, have backed Costa.
"Diego spoke to club officials after the game and expressed regret over
his reaction to the challenge from Gareth Barry that led to his red
card, but Diego was also very clear that he did not bite him at any
point during that altercation," a statement on the club's official Twiiter account read.
Blues boss Guus Hiddink meanwhile wanted to wait until he saw the television replays before commenting.
"I try to be fair in my judgement, I haven't seen it and it is difficult for me to say yes or no," the much-travelled manager said immediately after the game.
"Without seeing, I don't want to give judgement on this.
"He was chased a bit in the game. They went after him. They knew it. It is within the rules.
"As a referee you must protect the situation but knowing and feeling the atmosphere - then comes the moment that I would like to give judgement (on) but I haven't seen it."