6 great sport channels
Football, Rugby, UFC, GAA
All free when you join eir Broadband
Crystal Palace defender Damien Delaney insists he did not touch Christian Benteke in the penalty area in the closing stages of the Premier League defeat to Liverpool.
Benteke was awarded a penalty after Delaney was judged to have made contact with the striker deep in injury time, with replays showing he clipped Benteke with his right knee.
The Belgium international converted the spot-kick to secure a 2-1 victory for Liverpool and leave Crystal Palace without a win in the league since December 19.
Crystal Palace manager Alan Pardew accused Benteke of diving and Delaney maintains he did not make with the striker.
"I can honestly say I didn't make contact with Benteke today and IF there was slight contact I didn't impede him and certainly didn't feel there was enough to award a penalty in the 96th min...If a penalty is awarded that late it has to be unequivocal," Delaney wrote on Instagram.
"I waited over an hour to speak with the officials and in fairness to Andre Marriner he said he didn't think it was a penalty but he trusted his linesman that much he awarded it.
"With the way the game was ref'd and the physicality of both teams it was unbelievably harsh. With how Wilfred (Wilfried Zaha) and Yannick (Bolasie) were man handled by Liverpool players over the course of the game, which I've no problem with, it was a really tough decision to take so late.
"All I can do is swallow it and hope to put this right."