We use cookies to provide you with a better service. Carry on browsing if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.

6 great sport channels

Football, Rugby, UFC, GAA

All free when you join eir Broadband

Subscribe to eir Sport
Published: 11:09 | 2/5/16

Vardy wins Football Writers' award

Striker beats team-mates Mahrez and Kante

Leicester forward Jamie Vardy has been voted the 2016 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers' Association (FWA).

The striker won 36% of the vote to beat off competition from team-mates Riyad Mahrez and N'Golo Kante, with seven Foxes players receiving votes, Wes Morgan, Kasper Schmeichel, Danny Drinkwater and Danny Simpson the other four.

Vardy's 24 goals for club and country has fired Leicester to the brink of winning their first ever top flight litle and they will be crowned champions of Tottenham Hotspur fail to win at Chelsea on Monday night.

Even if Spurs do pick up the three points, they will remain five points off the pace with just two games remaining.

"It is testament to their all-round excellence that so many Leicester players polled votes from our members, said FWA chairman Andy Dunn. "The Jamie Vardy story, though, clearly captured the imagination of so many writers.

"His record-breaking feat of scoring in 11 consecutive matches is the jewel in what will surely be Leicester's Premier League crown.

"And the Footballer of the Year award is not just a reflection of his fantastic season, but recognition of a remarkable journey from non-league to the international stage."

Vardy will receive his award at the FWA's gala dinner on May 12th and he was understandably delighted.

"It's a great honour to win such a prestigious award and to have my name added to a list of previous winners that includes some unbelievable players," he said. " Thank you to the Football Writers' Association and to everyone that voted.

"Thank you also to my team-mates, who are the reason I've been able to achieve anything. It's been an amazing season for all of us at Leicester, based on teamwork not individuals, which you can see in the voting. Thanks also to the manager, all the staff and the fans for their support.

"We're all totally focused on getting over the line in the final two weeks of the season and turning a great season into one we'll never forget. Hopefully I can contribute to that and, if selected, carry some good form into the Euros this summer."

Spurs duo of Harry Kane and Del Alli also received votes as did Manchester City pair Setgio Aguero and Kevin de Bruyne with West Ham's Dmitri Payet also making some writer's selections for a fabulous first season in English football.

Unfit Berahino put on weight loss plan

14:26 | 21/10/16

West Brom striker Saido Berahino has been put on a weight loss programme.

Conte: Mourinho deserves respect

14:45 | 21/10/16

Antonio Conte has called on Chelsea fans to show Jose Mourinho the maximum respect when he returns to Stamford Bridge on Sunday.

Guariola dismisses rift reports

15:27 | 21/10/16

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola insists Sergio Aguero and Vincent Kompany remain in his plans amid rumours of a rift.

Ireland to host Iceland in March

10:46 | 21/10/16

The Republic of Ireland will welcome Iceland to the Aviva Stadium for a 'Three' International Friendly on Tuesday, March 28, a game that will be exclusively liv...

Fuchs agrees new Leicester contract

10:52 | 21/10/16

Christian Fuchs has signed a new contract that ties him to Leicester until June 2019.

What’s in the eir Sport Pack?

We’ve got heartstopping action across 6 great sports channels, with 42 Premier League games, every Champions League game and every Europa League game, as well as UFC, Allianz Leagues GAA, Golf, F1 and much more.